Rem Koolhaas Photo: OMA / Dominik Gigler

Rem Koolhaas
Photo: Dominik Gigler

Rem Koolhaas founded OMA in 1975 together with Elia and Zoe Zenghelis and Madelon Vriesendorp. He graduated from the Architectural Association in London and in 1978 published Delirious New York: A Retroactive Manifesto for Manhattan. In 1995, his book S,M,L,XL summarized the work of OMA in “a novel about architecture.” Koolhaas leads the work of OMA and AMO, the research branch of OMA. He is a professor at Harvard University, where he conducts the Project on the City, and he was recently appointed as the director of the 2014 Venice architecture biennale.




Reinier de Graaf  Photo: © OMA

Reinier de Graaf
Photo: © OMA

Reinier de Graaf joined OMA in 1996 as project director for De Rotterdam, the Netherlands’ largest building, which is currently under construction. In 2002 he became director of AMO, and produced “The Image of Europe,” an exhibition illustrating the history of the European Union. He led several OMA projects in the Middle East, and in 2009 led the competition-winning design for Rotterdam’s Stadskantoor. De Graaf is also working on the Commonwealth Institute redevelopment in London. He is responsible for AMO’s increasing involvement in sustainability and energy planning, which has included the publication in 2010 of Roadmap 2050: A Practical Guide to a Prosperous, Low-Carbon Europe with the European Climate Foundation and The Energy Report, a global plan for 100 percent renewable energy by 2050, made with the WWF.


Office presentation

OMA is a leading international partnership practicing architecture, urbanism, and cultural analysis. OMA’s buildings and masterplans around the world insist on intelligent forms while inventing new possibilities for content and everyday use. OMA is led by seven partners – Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon, Reinier de Graaf, Shohei Shigematsu, Iyad Alsaka, David Gianotten and Managing Partner, Victor van der Chijs – and sustains an international practice with offices in Rotterdam, New York, Beijing, Hong Kong, and Doha.

OMA-designed buildings currently under construction include the Taipei Performing Arts Centre; the Television Cultural Centre in Beijing; Shenzhen Stock Exchange; three buildings in Doha, Qatar; and De Rotterdam, a mixed-use building on the river Maas.

OMA’s recently completed projects include the headquarters for China Central Television (CCTV); New Court, the headquarters for Rothschild bank in London; Milstein Hall, an extension to the Architecture, Art, and Planning school at Cornell University; Maggie’s Centre, a cancer care centre in Glasgow (all 2011); Wyly Theatre in Dallas (with REX, 2009); and Prada Transformer, a rotating multi-use pavilion in Seoul (2009). Other acclaimed buildings include the Casa da Música in Porto (2005); the Seattle Central Library (2004); the Netherlands Embassy in Berlin (2003); and the IIT Campus Center in Chicago (2003).

The work of Rem Koolhaas and OMA has won several international awards including the Pritzker Architecture Prize (2000), the Praemium Imperiale (2003), the RIBA Gold Medal (2004), the Mies van der Rohe-European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture (2005), the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice Biennale (2010), the RIBA Charles Jencks Award (2012) and the Vermeer Prize (2013).